host

Tuesday, Jan. 04, 2005--7:02 p.m.
ICE STORM

I made it to work today by 5am! Yay! Actually I couldn�t sleep so I was up by 3:30, but it still counts right? I was just getting ready to clock back in from lunch and the lights went out which is always kind of scary because all these machines start beeping and the emergency exit lights come and the rest of the place is in darkness. I had heard that we were going to have an ice storm, but so far all it had done is rain. A few minutes later the lights came back on and we all went about our business. Then about half an hour later off they went again and when it was determined that it was for good they sent us all home. The up side to this is that I got to leave early; the down side is there goes the overtime that I was building up. Oh well, maybe next week. I went out to the car and I couldn�t find the ice scraper because by then my car was covered in about an inch of ice all over. I went to look in the trunk and it was frozen shut. I saw B scraping his car and I asked him if I could borrow his scraper when he was finished and he said no, I�ll scrape it for you. He�s probably in his late 50�s so I�m sure that to him it was the polite thing to do, help a lady in distress, but men my age sure as hell wouldn�t have done that. At least not the ones I�ve come across.

Now I�m sitting here doing laundry just in case we have work tomorrow, they told us to call around 6:30am and they�ll let us know if we�re good to go or not. All of the schools in the surrounding towns are closed tomorrow but so far ours hasn�t cancelled. Usually if the school closes work closes too. At least I�ll sort of get to sleep in tomorrow since I can�t go in early. Hubby called and his work closed at 6pm instead of their usual 11 and they�re opening 2 hours late tomorrow, so he�s happy because they have inclement weather pay so he�ll get paid for his full 8 hours. I wish I was that lucky. I�m hoping that the lights don�t go out because, hello freaky, but also because that would mean no heat and it�s freakin cold out there. A huge branch fell blocking our driveway and I felt the thud inside the house, it scared the crap out of me. I went and tried to move it because Hubby will need to get to the garage, but it was so heavy I could only move it a little but I think it may be enough for him to get around it. I keep hearing these �ripping� sounds and then I�ll hear a boom, then I run to the window to see where the branch fell. This is so weird. They�re calling for freezing rain turning into snow late tonight and through tomorrow. God, winter�s fucking here and of coarse the Bodhi dog won�t go outside because it�s cold and he�ll get his paws wet. He peed for the first time today around 5pm and I had to trick him into that by ordering him to go potty and holding a treat in front of his face. This is gonna be a long ass winter.

<< | >>

Whatever

Older Entries
New Play Pin - Wednesday, Oct. 01, 2008
HIATUS - Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005
BEFORE SUNSET - Saturday, Jan. 08, 2005
STORM TROOPERS - Wednesday, Jan. 05, 2005
ICE STORM - Tuesday, Jan. 04, 2005

The WeatherPixie

bykikitranq.GIF (4501 bytes)