host

Saturday, Jan. 01, 2005--12:12 p.m.
MEET THE FOCKERS & OPEN WATER

Did I mention that I saw Meet the Fockers on Christmas Eve? See, that�s how memorable it was and how bad it sucked. I don�t know if it was Barbra Streisand that bugged me, Mom loves her so I was practically raised on her and I do like some of her work. Maybe it was the fact that they stretched the plot too far and found a way to include a baby so they could make pooh and pee jokes. I dunno, it wasn�t that funny and I wouldn�t recommend it.

Last night was pretty low key but we had a good time. We started the evening with Open Water and although it was compelling it left me hanging, wanting something. Then we went into 4 straight hours of 24 and that�s how we rang in the New Year, with Jack Bauer and the CTU gang and a kiss. Man, we�re out of control.

I came to a realization; I think I�m a Sci-Fi geek. Now I would have never thought of myself in those terms, but it must be true. Can you truly be a fan of Buffy, X-Files, Quantum Leap, Roswell and X-Men without being a geek? Oh well, I guess I�ll just have to embrace by geekiness, but I draw the line at collecting the dolls er, I mean action figures.

To add to my hobbies/obsessions list I�m now knee deep into Sylvia Plath. I loved The Bell Jar, I could totally relate to that world and Plath�s writing really drew me in. I looked at some of her books of poetry the other day and although I don�t pretend to understand all of them the ones that I did get just floored me (especially Daddy). There�s a book of her journals that I�m dying to get, but it�s almost 20 bucks so that�ll have to wait for now. But I am ready to roll in the Plathness.

I think I live for these little obsessions to come along, it makes life worth living and it feels so good to discover something new. I love researching things and immersing myself in it until I�ve soaked up all of the knowledge that I can. I think given half a chance and with a little encouragement I could�ve been a great student. But I was drug from place to place and I was never asked about homework or told how great I was when I did make a little achievement and college was never mentioned so I never thought of it. Oh, I can�t completely blame mom for it, I was a difficult child and I had a strong will. But with just a little stability and a little push I think I would�ve done great.

Hubby�s off today and we�re going to do some errands and then watch the next disc of 24. The new season starts in a week and we�re trying to catch up to it. In other news the allergies are acting up again and that just sucks. Only 2 more days of vacation, I�m not sure how I feel about that. Now I think I�ll go make a desktop wallpaper with all of my favorite shows since I can�t find one that I like. This is a long process for me because I suck at it, but I have some time to kill.

<< | >>

Whatever

Older Entries
New Play Pin - Wednesday, Oct. 01, 2008
HIATUS - Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005
BEFORE SUNSET - Saturday, Jan. 08, 2005
STORM TROOPERS - Wednesday, Jan. 05, 2005
ICE STORM - Tuesday, Jan. 04, 2005

The WeatherPixie

bykikitranq.GIF (4501 bytes)